Tipperary Post Primary Schools T&F Championships

The Tipperary Post Primary Schools Track & Field Championships take place on Wednesday 5th April in Templemore Track. The Hammer/Discus will commence at 10am, Hurdles at 10.45am with all other events to start at 11am. 5 euro per athlete and 5 euro per relay team.

See Timetable and other information here – tipperary-schools-tf-2017

All details will be sent out to schools this week (13th March). Closing date for receipt of entries is Friday 31st March. 

Gold for St. Mary’s Nenagh at Irish Schools XC

The Irish Life Health Irish Schools Cross County Championships were held in Mallusk, Co. Antrim on Saturday 11th March. Star performers for East Munster were St. Mary’s Nenagh Minor Girls team who won gold on the day. Team was Niamh Cunneen, Ailbhe O’Neill, Ellen Cunneen & Aoibheann Slattery.


Super performances were also put in by our podium finishers : Niamh Cunneen, St. Mary’s Nenagh (5th Minor Girls),  Jake McCarthy, Pobail Scoil na Trionoide Youghal (6th Inter Boys), Avril Deegan, Presentation Thurles (4th Senior Girls), Claire Rafter, Ursuline Thurles (5th Senior Girls) & Micheal Power, St. Augustine’s Dungarvan (6th Senior Boys).

See Munster Schools Report here –  irish-life-health-irish-schoosl-xc-champs-2017

17156233_1396629863701178_4619003696694120619_n     17155543_1396653203698844_299347888756983916_n

Other East Munster athletes who performed very well to finish in the top 12 were:-

  • Ailbhe O’Neill, St. Mary’s Nenagh 10th Minor Girls
  • Ellen Cunneen, St. Mary’s Nenagh 12th Minor Girls
  • Una O’Brien, Waterpark College 10th Junior Girls

In the team competitions, Munster schools took home 1 gold (St. Mary’s Newport) & 3 bronze (Presentation Thurles & St. Flannan’s College Ennis). St. Mary’s Nenagh took the title in the Minor Girls. In the Minor Boys there was 7th for Thurles CBS & in the Junior Girls,  St. Augustine’s Dungarvan were 7th  while in the Inter Girls competition,  the Ursuline Waterford finished 8th. In the Inter Boys competition, Thurles CBS were 9th. In the Senior Girls race, there was bronze for the Presentation Thurles, 4th place for Waterpark College & 5th place for the Ursuline Thurles  with Waterpark College in 8th place in the Senior Boys category.


Munster Qualifiers for Irish Life Health Irish Schools XC Champs

See List of Munster Qualifiers for Irish Life Health Irish Schools Cross Country Championships in Mallusk on Saturday 11th March here – Munster Qualifiers XC 2017

Can all schools who have athletes taking part, please check the list for any errors/omissions & notify same to Liam O’Brien at liamobrien001@hotmail.com.

Also, if any one of the individual qualifiers cannot take part on the day, can you please let Liam know immediately so that the athlete next on the list can be contacted & given a chance to compete. Finally any changes to team compositions should also be notified to Liam.

Munster Schools Cross Country Championships – Results

The Munster Schools Cross Country Championships took place on Thursday 16th February in Tramore Valley Park, Cork City. Congratulations to all our medal winners & to all who took part on the day.

There was a gold medal win for Aimee Hayde, St. Mary’s Newport in the Junior Girls race, silver medals for Niamh Cunneen, St. Mary’s Nenagh (Minor Girls), Una O’Brien, Waterpark College (Junior Girls), Matteo Mary, St. Declan’s Kilmacthomas  (Junior Boys), Jake McCarthy, Pobalscoil na Trionoide, Youghal, (Inter Boys), Avril Deegan, Presentation Thurles (Senior Girls), 4th for Oisin O’Riordain, Dungarvan CBS (Junior Boys ), 4th for Evan Keane, St. Declan’s Kilmacthomas (Senior Boys), 5th for Fred Crowley, Thurles CBS & 7th for Conor Ryan, Our Lady’s Templemore (Inter Boys), 5th for Saoirse Allen, Mercy Waterford, 6th for Ailbhe O’Neill & 9th for Ellen Cunneen, St. Mary’s Nenagh (Minor Girls), 6th place for Claire Rafter, Ursuline Thurles (Inter Girls), 7th place for Jack Ryan, Our Lady’s Templemore (Minor Boys).

In the Team competitions, there was gold for St. Mary’s Nenagh (Minor Girls), Thurles CBS (Minor Boys), silver for St. Augustine’s College, Dungarvan (Junior Girls), bronze for Thurles CBS in the Intermediate Boys race & bronze for the Ursuline Waterford in the Intermediate Girls competition, gold, silver & bronze in the Senior Girls race for the Presentation Thurles, Waterpark College & the Ursuline Thurles & bronze for Waterpark College (Senior Boys)

See Results here – MunsterXC2017_Results